top of page
Search
baccusdestini

Ode To Purses

Updated: Mar 16

Ode To Purses


From big to little, latched or zipped I always carry a purse.

They rarely left my side.

My first purse was burgundy red and maple brown,

Dad said I should carry one. "You're a young lady, you need one to carry your things."

So, I did, and ever since I have held a purse.


My second purse was dyed a bright crimson red; it lacked a zipper or a latch.

It left nowhere for my items to hide.

My retainers fell out of it; they were never found.

After that, I abandoned the purse as I cried.


My third was colored a milk chocolate brown; it zipped up thankfully.

Wide-eyed I had received it at my birthday party.

My cousin Jae gave it to me; after years it had fallen apart.

Alongside my relationship with her, now it resides in a corner of my dorm.


My fourth purse was pink and white; my dad bought it for me.

It closes with the flip of a scuffed golden latch.

A plum-purple scarf is tied to it.

That is my favorite of the purses.


My fifth and final purse is bright pink with a floral print.

Snow white and apple red; the flowers pop against the fabric yet match at the same time.

It closes with the click of a latch.

My grandma bought it for me, she wants the purse now.

She will not get it, not on my watch.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Buns

Buns   Yellow like the corn, Toasted a pale leaf brown at its edges, Sprinkled with white grains of sugar, Doused in thick rouge cherry...

Feeling Faint

Feeling Faint   Dizziness, Blurring crystal clear vision, Into colorful blobs, Lively blobs, Peppered with specs of black, Until, Until a...

Breakfast

Breakfast   Hiss ! Bacon, flushing from white to red, Bathing in its own slick pastel oils, Bubbling lards, Cooks’ pork until crispy,...

Comments


bottom of page