top of page
Search
baccusdestini

From the Personal Diary of Countess Day - 05.13.2XXX

I came across the fairy kingdom.

Not the best drawing. A few inaccuracies of subject. But a reference is a reference!
Fairy Subject 1

Not intentionally, mind you, but I passed out. If my memory is correct, I had first braved a giant snake with scales as red as rubies. It had three heads; each head had a face that was covered in large bulging bloodshot eyes as sickeningly blue as an unintended child choking on a piece of candy. The snake had somehow been the easiest challenge, just dodge it strikes and run whenever it was distracted by a critter that got caught in its territory.


Then, I had crossed a forest of green fire that atr at my skin and clothes without me having to touch it's target. Turns out human saliva was the only thing that could douse the blaze or shield it when applied to a surface. It was disgusting but, again, it was easy. Make some good old numbing gel with what resources I had in my pack, apply it to my mouth, and get to drooling. I did not even have to run out of the forest, all I had to do was walk out once all needed was applied to my body.


Finally, I had to search for a way out of a dark place, it could have been a forest or a cave but I am still not sure as of writing this. The place was so void of light and color that I could not anything. No glimmering from the bazil of my watch, no snowy white moon or banana yellow sun to guide me, no eyes of predator or prey mammals following gleaming back at me like beady little marbles. There was nothing to focus my gaze on but endless black and somehow that was worse than the snake or the forest of fire. Never am I going back there again, cannot even remember how I made it out.


But anyways, I am rambling.


Now where was I? Oh right!


I came across the Fairy Kingdom.


It is truly a beautiful place. Monetary wealth is the true foundation of the kingdom, but the fairies themselves do not realize this. Diamonds, emeralds, and other precious jewels and minerals are built into the structure of buildings. Sometimes they entirely make up the whole structure of certain shelters. The streets are paved in shiny bright yellow sheets of previously melted gold. Everything was so beautiful that it kept me conscious long enough to reach the center of town. Where I proceeded to collapse.


THUD!


When I woke, I was surrounded by sprites the size of Dixie paper cups. They lacked any shoes thus showing off their thimble-like feet but they did wear leaf dresses. Some foliage outfits were brittle and stiff colored shades of pumpkin orange and cherry red. Other dresses were long and limp with them being colored a lush shades of emerald and forest green. A few others, though, were more mismatched, consisting of both stiff and limp leaves.


But no matter the style or type of dress they were all threaded together with sparkling translucent spider silk. With the fairies themselves, their raspberry pink faces scrunched up and their strangely small wings made from downy shimmering silver feathers, holding speers in my dad's. The handles of their speers were made from tree twigs and their pointed tips were made of pale blue diamonds, perfectly sharpened.


All of them glared at me with beady little eyes as big as flies but that did not stop me from striking up a

conversation. I was fascinated by them and still am as of writing this. "Oh my! You are all so cute!" I squealed, as I sat up.


Buzz! This caused the fairies to shriek and flutter back, pink twinkling dust raining down on the ground below them as they retreated. "Jin-Ga-Ling! Jin-Ga-Ling! Jin-Ga-Ling!" I almost fainted from the ridiculous amounts of serotonin setting off sparks in my head. From their plump peach-pink lips echoed the nostalgic chime of Christmas bells – the ones used in movies.


"You are all so precious! Where did you find all these jewels and gems? Do they appear naturally around here?" I asked, as I patted at the pockets on my blue tie-dye shorts, searching for the very notebook I am writing in now. Documentation is a necessity in zoology.


"Jin-Ga-Ling. Jin-Ga-Ling." I glanced up at the fairies, by now they had all spread out around me, talking between one another. Some still held their weapons, others had them tucked under their arms. They glanced between themselves and I, their postures limp and awkward and their heads tilted at an angle.


"Yes!" I yelled, whilst my hand landed on a familiar lump in my back pocket. Immediately, I yanked it out and opened the indigo leather bound journal. Buzz. From the corner of my eyes I could see some fairies edge closer to the book. "Can I do a sketch of one of you? And maybe a male friend of yours?"


My eyes landed on one of the curious fairies, this one had a younger face with curly short red hair. She, the fairy, glanced around for a moment before nodding. "Jin-Ga-Ling," It stated, as if flew closer whilst two fairies broke from the group to fly off to who knows where. Buzz! Maybe get its superiors?


"Yes! Thank you!" I beamed and so did the volunteered fairy. Even though I could not understand what the fairies were saying. I was making, at least, a little headway through our language barrier.


Hopefully.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Buns

Buns   Yellow like the corn, Toasted a pale leaf brown at its edges, Sprinkled with white grains of sugar, Doused in thick rouge cherry...

Feeling Faint

Feeling Faint   Dizziness, Blurring crystal clear vision, Into colorful blobs, Lively blobs, Peppered with specs of black, Until, Until a...

Breakfast

Breakfast   Hiss ! Bacon, flushing from white to red, Bathing in its own slick pastel oils, Bubbling lards, Cooks’ pork until crispy,...

Comments


bottom of page