top of page
Search
baccusdestini

Buns

Buns

 

Yellow like the corn,

Toasted a pale leaf brown at its edges,

Sprinkled with white grains of sugar,

Doused in thick rouge cherry sauce,

The buns grandma made,

“Made with love,”

She cooed.

And loved by all,

Except me.

 

The baked bread of the bun,

Felt rough,

Like sand on my tongue.

Harshly,

Bitter charcoal and bland corn,

Clashed,

On my tastebuds.

The sweetness of sugar,

Gag-inducing,

Only made things worse.

The cherry sauce,

So bitter my lips shriveled like raisins,

So sticky that it glued my teeth shut,

I never enjoyed them in childhood.

 

Grandma died,

Alone,

Choked on a steaming hot bun,

Found smiling,

“Found with her throat charred to soot,”

Family claims.

Now?

 

Now, I make the buns,

The taste still sickens me.

Undigested yellow mush,

Acid liquified syrup,

Sits in a soup of toilet water and bile.

I hate those buns,

But the family loves them,

And I love grandma.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Feeling Faint

Feeling Faint   Dizziness, Blurring crystal clear vision, Into colorful blobs, Lively blobs, Peppered with specs of black, Until, Until a...

Breakfast

Breakfast   Hiss ! Bacon, flushing from white to red, Bathing in its own slick pastel oils, Bubbling lards, Cooks’ pork until crispy,...

Comments


bottom of page